Last update:Fri, 26 May 2023

Frequently Asked Questions for Travelling to Sri Lanka as a Tourist



Please note that the Consular Section of the Sri Lankan Embassy in Berlin is not responsible for visas for Sri Lankan citizens wishing to enter Germany and cannot provide any assistance in such cases. For these purposes, the persons concerned should contact the Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany in Colombo.


1. Is Sri Lanka open for tourists from all countries?

Yes, Sri Lanka introduced simple health guidelines for tourists to adhere when travelling in Sri Lanka

Announcement by the Civil Aviation Authority of Sri Lanka - Impediments in applying for ETA

CivilAviationAuthorityThe Department of Immigration and Emigration has informed that the tourists, who are unsuccessful in making credit card payments for Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) to travel to Sri Lanka due to the ongoing upgrade and maintenance of the ETA front end system will be issued On Arrival ETA (at the port of entry to Sri Lanka) as an alternative channel, with a view to promote the tourism industry.

This arrangement is available for all nationals except the passport holders of Afghanistan, Pakistan, Syria, Nigeria, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Cameroon, Myanmar, Nepal and North Korea.

Please be noted that it is advisable to obtain online ETA by the tourists, where possible, prior to their arrival to Sri Lanka.  

Upul Dharmadasa CTC, Chairman, Civil Aviation Authority of Sri Lanka