Last update:Thu, 28 May 2020

Implementing free visa scheme for designated countries

VisafreeThose who hold passports of listed countries and travel to Sri Lanka from 01.08.2019 to 31.01.2020 for tourist purposes are exempted paying ETA fee, in view of enhancing tourist arrivals from designated countries. This regulation was extended from 26.02.2020 until 30.04.2020

However, any foreign national who will be visiting Sri Lanka for a short period is required to apply ETA and ensure pre approval before the journey to avoid unnecessary delays at the port of entry and adhere with enhanced pre clearance.

The list of countries is as follows.

28 countries under European Union (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and United Kingdom)

as well as Thailand, United States of America, Japan, Australia, South Korea, Canada, Singapore, New Zealand, Malaysia, Norway, Switzerland, Cambodia, China, India, Indonesia, Israel, Ukraine, Philippines, Russia and Iceland

Visitors are advised to get their visa before travelling to Sri Lanka via the website eta.gov.lk - Paying a visa fee won't be required - to avoid having to wait for having a visa issued upon arrival at the airport. We are sorry that visa fees paid already for the said period can't be reimbursed due to administrative difficulties.